Huda Beauty Liquid Matte Lipsticks – First Impressions/Review/Swatches

img_5177

Hey guys! So today I did a little shopping in Harrods and I finally got to visit the Huda Beauty stand. I was so excited because I’ve wanted to try her matte liquid lipsticks for a while but I wanted to wait until I could actually swatch them and see the shades in person. I picked up three colours; Flirt, Spice Girl and Vixen. I tried them out for the first time as soon as I got home and I thought I’d share my first impressions with you and show you some swatches so you can see what the colours look like on the lips….

Soooo.. Overall I am very impressed with the whole collection. There are 16 beautiful shades to choose from, ranging from nudes to browns to pinks to purples, so there is a shade to suit everyone. They are all very wearable and I wanted all of them haha.

The packaging is beautiful. She probably has the cutest packaging in the world! It’s so unique and I love how you can see what each shade looks like swatched on the lips. The actual lipstick tube is very simple and classy with a kind of glazed glass effect, and the applicator picks up a lot of product and is very easy to use.

The formula is up there with one of the top that I’ve tried so far. It’s a bit runnier than most liquid lipstick formulas, but this is good because it feels very light on the lips. All the shades I tried were very pigmented and only needed one layer, they weren’t patchy unlike some liquid lipsticks that I’ve tried, where the darker shades tend to be hard to apply and require several layers. They took about 60 seconds to dry matte, but they didn’t dry completely and still felt a bit creamy after, which is good because they don’t dehydrate the lips and they’re comfortable to wear. I haven’t worn them for a long period of time so I can’t say how long wearing they are, but I have high hopes because they don’t transfer.

The scent is really yummy. They smell very sweet and kind of like chocolate liquor.

They retail at £18 and you can get them online at Cult Beauty or in store at Harrods.

The three colours I picked were Flirt, Spice Girl and Vixen. Flirt is a nude chocolatey brown shade which is so easy to wear with any look and is definitely my favourite. Spice Girl is a 90’s inspired brown and is very similar to Flirt but more warm toned with a bit of mauve running through it. Vixen is a true red brown shade. It’s a bit bolder than the other two and would look amazing with simple winged liner and lots of lashes! You can check out all the swatches below 🙂 (sorry about the application).

FLIRT
image1-21

SPICE GIRL
image3-9

VIXEN
image2-14

So as you can probably tell, I love them! I really want to get some more shades because I’m very impressed with the formula. I really recommend that you try them, and if you do, let me know how you like them!

Thanks for reading, hope you enjoyed,

Aisha xxx

INSTAGRAM

2 comments

Leave a comment